Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggested fix for the Barbarian that changes very little

Default Suggested fix for the Barbarian that changes very little

My Barbarian was my first character back in 2008. Somehow he got bugged by the Khitai expansion and could not receive quest rewards for any Khitai linked quest for two years until FC techs rebuilt him on their server. Recently I started playing him again with nearly full AA feats, some Khitai armor, dual Crescent of Blood and various epic items and he just gets rolled in a few seconds by anything with a KB or armor and a couple of top-end attacks.

I got to thinking that the Barbarian has low armor and not spectacular burst damage like an Assassin, but builds up either DPS or HP's and regen as the fight progresses. However, players evade attacks so easily in AoC that the regen and dps does not become substantial soon enough if at all in PvP.

So what if Blood Rage stance started out with high regen and hp and as HP's fall DPS starts to buff up. And in Reaver players start out with boosted DPS and as HPs fall they get a regen boost and even higher DPS. That would give them a little burst from the start of a battle and allow them to overcome heavy armor and casters as the battle time lengthened. It's kind of what Barbarians do now, but more in tune with how PvP battles run instead of currently which is great in PvE, but PvP is usually too short for the Barbarian stances to take effect..

Try using Without Warning and Upheaval perks. With "Without Warning" and Atrocity feated, you will get stacks much faster, and Upheaval hurts a lot.

I think the stances are fine as they are.

The thing about barbs is that they get the most healing when the blood rage stacks goes from 10 to 15. When its up at 15 the healing is acually not that good, its the ticks that gives us the nice heal.
    So what we realy need is more abilities to controll / reduce blood rage stacks down from 15 so we can start gaining ticks again.