Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Conqueror or Dark Templar?

Default Conqueror or Dark Templar?

I am relatively new to the game, currently 'only' having a Demonologist and Herald of Xotli on Level 80, and was now thinking about trying myself at something other than a DPS class, namely a tank. WWhich brings us right to my dilemma since I do not know which class to pick. Guardian, from all the fluff, has the least appeal to me as it seems a bit blad (Guardinas reading this please forgive me). The choice between Conqueror and Dark Templar however is harder, and just playing both to 80, gear them up decently and then see for myself is not really the preferred option. Hence I am trying to gather a bit of information about both classes so I do not regret my choice after I have reached lvl 80.

And part of this is my appeal to the general audience - you! - to chime in where would you see the main gameplay differences between Conqueror and Dark Templar tanks in the endgame, what are the key distinctions to help my decision? Do they differ much in survivability, threat generation, DPS (while tanking), ease of play or other important aspects? I have already read that the Dark Templar takes longer to gear up. There has also been mention of Talisman tanking in regard to the Dark Templars, feel free to comment on that as well. Any helpful hint is greatly appreciated.

In a rough comparison of the two:

DT
    - Only magic damage dealer of the soldier classes.
    - Much, MUCH higher dps as a tanking DT than a Brute Conq, mostly due to VoM.
    - Because of the above, pretty much relies on VoM to function, and is sub-par without it.
    - I've seen tali DTs go to work as tanks on the Yag Loop and other places, and it works. High dps and still maintains aggro no problem without survivability issues. Needs some gear though to pull that off.