Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intel i5 CPU questions

Default Intel i5 CPU questions

I have begun building a new gaming pc and could use a little, or a lot, of help.

I think the Intel Core i5 is what I will go with but I'm seeing lot's of versions of the i5 like i5-4670-K,4570,4430,4590, etc etc.
    Question 1: What do those numbers mean and what would be a good one to go with for hardcore demanding games?

Question 2: LGA 1150 and 1155 has to do with socket size? It seems the 1155 is better but I'm not sure why. At least that's what I've been able to gather from reviews I've read so far.

Question 3: Since I am a pc dummy, is there anything else I need to know about the cpu I choose that I am not asking about here?

I have no experience with pc's so any feedback and comments are appreciated. Price isn't a big issue nor will the size of the motherboard be an issue.

Thanks in advance for any help -

Pretty easy when it comes to this, bigger is better. Highest number gives you most power.

And keeping with the theme of higher is better, when pirce is not a big issue, you go for a i7 cpu.
    I am Stian ingame...

http://www.megabuy.com.au/intel-i5-4...0-p470004.html

i ordered this one a few days ago

hoping it does me good i think it will

Quote Originally Posted by Civilix View Post
    Pretty easy when it comes to this, bigger is better. Highest number gives you most power.

And keeping with the theme of higher is better, when pirce is not a big issue, you go for a i7 cpu.
    So:

about the CPU: the highest the number, the better the CPU is a good thumb rule.

about the CPU: the K after the number means that the CPU is unlocked, means more hacker friendly for obtaining higher performances. useless if the chipset doesnt support the CPU unlock. Ths S after the number means that the CPU is configured for a better performance/watt ration. ie. less heath for same frame per second. if you are going for a very little case, could be better.