Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How Casual?

Default How Casual?

I have been playing AoC off and on since EA. I have several lvl 80's (Thanks to off line lvls) but all are horribly undergeared (Thanks to Hackers/gold farmers and my account being hacked a couple of years ago and all of my toons stripped of gear and money...including what little raid gear I had)

I want to play, but I am a true casual player. I have a busy work and family schedule, so I try to play often, but it is hard to play with any consistency, something that probably makes me not very wanted by guilds who run weekly raids or 6 mans. I really do not want to do PUG's as I like working with people I know (I.E...part of a guild) especially since I am new to raids and k6's, I need to learn the lay of the land, and PUG's are often less forgiving or willing to teach.

What does AoC offer a returning casual player? Probably not much as I doubt many guilds want players who want to play, but can't commit to a regular schedule.

How long do most raids take? (I have done all 3 T1 raids before, so I know how long each of those are)

How long do k6's take? (I have never done any...Khitai really seems like more of a commitment than I want to get involved in...I recently tried faction grinding on one of my toons, but my Sin is so undergeared I have trouble with many mobs, expecially in Kora Korum.

We also all know about the desparity of trying to get into PVP and the gear gap against higher tiered PVP players...PVP is probably the easiest thing for me to get into, but also could be like ramming my head into a brick wall over and over again expecting something to happen to the wall and not my head :P

I guess this brings up the ultimate question...Is AoC even a game you can play casually, and is this preventing it from really thriving?